13th International Conference on migration and development

  • October 2024

    IZA/ECONtribute Workshop on the Economics of Education


    The 8th IZA/ECONtribute Workshop on the Economics of Education will convene international scholars focusing on the development of skills within both formal and informal educational contexts and their valuation in the labor market. The conference will feature a select group of presenters, alongside a poster session for local researchers from the host institutions. Presentations and the keynote speech will be accessible via Zoom to an external audience.

13th International Conference on migration and development
June 11, 2020 - June 12, 2020

The French Development Agency (AFD) Research Department, the World Bank Development Research Group (DECRG), the Luxembourg Institute for Socio-Economic Research (LISER) and the Center for Research in Economics and Management (CREA) at the University of Luxembourg are jointly organizing the 13th International Conference on “Migration and Development”. The conference is devoted to investigating ways in which international migration affects economic and social change in developing countries. Possible topics include the effects of migration on poverty, inequality, and human capital formation; social networks and migration; migration and globalization; remittances; brain drain; migration and institutional/technological/demographic change in sending countries, today and in the past.

Submission of full Papers

Submission guidelines and timetable

Submissions of full papers (pdf file name should begin with submitting author last name) are expected by February 15, 2020. Submissions should be sent via online form. Decisions will be communicated by March 1st, 2020. Travel (economy class) and accommodation in Luxembourg for up to three nights will be covered for all participants.

Organizing Committee

Michel Beine (University of Luxembourg), Anda David (AFD), Frédéric Docquier (LISER), Çağlar Özden (World Bank), Hillel Rapoport (Paris School of Economics)

Scientific Committee

Chair -- Hillel Rapoport (Paris School of Economics); Ran Abramitzky (Stanford), Sam Bazzi (Boston U), Michel Beine (Luxembourg), Simone Bertoli (CERDI), Michael Clemens (CGD), Patricia Cortes (Boston U), Frédéric Docquier (LISER), Giovanni Facchini (Nottingham), Marcel Fafchamps (Stanford), Paola Giuliano (UCLA), Marcel Fafchamps (Stanford), Hubert Jayet (LEM, Lille), William Kerr (Harvard Business School), Anna Maria Mayda (Georgetown), David McKenzie (World Bank), Stelios Michalopoulos (Brown), Melanie Morten (Stanford), Çağlar Özden (World Bank), Dean Yang (University of Michigan).

read more